Archive
How to access Harvard Business Review
The University of Manchester Library has changed its Electronic Journals A to Z list so this is a revised version of “How to access Harvard Business Review” – an essential skill for all.
You find an interesting Harvard Business Review (HBR) article on the web and want to read the full-text.
You have found your article – keep title, author, year and issue (i.e. the bibliographic details) to hand.
University of Manchester students and staff do not have to pay but you do have to access HBR via a journals database.
If you are accessing from a mobile device you can use the EBSCOhost app.
Using a browser, follow these steps:
1. Goto the e-journals A-to-Z list.
(For example goto www.mbs.ac.uk/library select e-Resources – Electronic Journals and then A-Z Electronic Journals)
2. Find details of UoM subscription to the HBR journal
Search for all journals with the words “harvard business review ” in their title.
The result indicates that the University subscribes to HBR through the journal database EBSCOhost Business Source Premier.
Note the access information, especially if you are off-campus.
Click on the link. This takes you to the FindIT@UML for HBR – click GO.
3. Authenticate your access to Business Source Premier
This step will vary depending on whether you are on-campus or on-campus.
On-campus, your PC is recognised as belonging to the University and no additional authentication is required.
If you are off-campus you need to select the Shibboleth login link and provide your details (for more detail see previous access Harvard Business Review post).
If you are off-campus and using the VPN software then you are “virtually on-campus” – your PC behaves as an on-campus PC.
4. Select the HBR issue
When you get to the HBR page on Business Source Premier (EBSCO host):
Expand the year (from the article’s bibliographic details) and then select the relevant issue.
Or
Use the search within this publication link.
5. Get the article
When you get to the page for a HBR issue:
Scroll through the articles to find the one that you want
Or
Amend the search at the top of the page with further details e.g. author surname, title keywords …
You can download the full-text by selecting the PDF full text link.
Use the add to folder link and then the folder view and export to add the bibliographic details to your reference management system.
Finally
For articles from other journals the stages are the same but the details will vary depending on the journal database. For more information look at our research guides or FAQ answers on e-journals.
How to access Harvard Business Review
You find an interesting Harvard Business Review (HBR) article on the web and want to read the full-text.
Note – newer version with latest Electronic Journals A to Z list – How to access Harvard Business Review (Aug 2012)
You have found your article – keep title, author, year and issue (i.e. the bibliographic details) to hand.
University of Manchester students and staff do not have to pay but you do have to access HBR via a journals database.
If you are accessing from a mobile device you can use the EBSCOhost app.
Using a browser, follow these steps:
1. Goto the e-journals A-to-Z list.
(For example goto www.mbs.ac.uk/library select eResources – Electronic Journals and then A-Z Electronic Journals)
2. Search Electronic Journals A-to-Z list
Search for all journals with the words “harvard business review ” in their title.
The result indicates that the University subscribes to HBR through the journal database Business Source Premier.
Note the access information, especially if you are off-campus.
3. Authenticate your access to Business Source Premier
This step will vary depending on whether you are on-campus or on-campus.
On-campus, your PC is recognised as belonging to the University and no additional authentication is required.
If you are off-campus you need to select the Shibboleth login link and provide your details (for more detail see previous access Harvard Business Review post).
If you are off-campus and using the VPN software then you are virtually on-campus.
4. Select the HBR issue
When you get to the HBR page on Business Source Premier (EBSCO host):
Expand the year (from the article’s bibliographic details) and then select the relevant issue.
Or
Use the search within this publication link.
5. Get the article
When you get to the page for a HBR issue:
Scroll through the articles to find the one that you want
Or
Amend the search at the top of the page with further details e.g. author surname, title keywords …
You can download the full-text by selecting the PDF full text link.
Use the add to folder link and then the folder view and export to add the bibliographic details to your reference management system.
Finally
For other articles from other journals the stages are the same but the details will vary depending on the journal database. For more information look at our research guides or FAQ answers on e-journals.
How Business News can enhance your Research
Business news can be very useful for gaining a detailed international, national and even regional perspective on current and/or historical company/industry events. Search across international news sources, eg: newspapers, news feeds, magazines and industry trade publications, to find up-to-date information and to place events and issues in a social or political context.
How can Business News Help Me?
Use Business News to complement and enhance your company / industry research, many sources may not have the most up to date information for company / industry events. Business news can help you understand what is happening right now and monitor events as they unfold.
- Gain a detailed perspective on current/historical political issues and events
- Keep up to date with company/industry events as they unfold
- Examine political, economic and market trends
- Track company announcements/results
- Examine historic / current mergers, acquisitions, deals
- Research key political, economic or company personnel
- Gain a competitive advantage for job applications/interviews
Our primary source for business news is Factiva, providing international news (in many languages) from global, national and regional sources including newspapers, news websites, newsfeeds, stock exchange feeds, and business/industry specific magazines.
Factiva will provide news dating back to the early 1980’s. For further historical research you can also consult our Financial Times and Economist archives which provide a full text archive of every issue of the Financial Times and the Economist from the mid 1800′s including market listings, photos, adverts and indicator tables. These are great resources for understanding the impact of historical events on company/market/economic developments.
For further information see our “How to Research: Business News” and our guide to searching “Factiva” available from the Helping You section of the MBS Library website:
Other Business Research Posts:
Related Manchester Business Answers Questions:
New look to the University’s secure login pages
From Monday 20 June, you will see a new screen whenever you are asked to login to a secure University web page via CAS (central authentication system). You will come across this screen when accessing many of the library’s online databases either on or off-campus.

The new login screen is designed to be more user friendly and to work better with mobile devices such as smartphones and portal hand held devices.
Don’t worry none of your login details need to change and, as always, IT Services recommends that you follow some simple rules to stay secure:
- Always check the address of any web page that asks for your University username and password.
- Never respond to an email that asks for your University username and password.
Retail Analysis: A New Look
Retail Analysis is an international retail market information database providing in-depth company, sector and country reports for the retailing industry and an excellent starting point for researching international retailing intellingence particularly the global food retailing sector.
Regular users will notice there have been a few changes to the database recently as it now boasts a new and even easier to use interface providing quick and seamless access to company profiles, country overviews, latest news, market shares, in-store layouts (inc photo’s!) and analysis by retailing theme. In addition to tailored reports/presentations the Retail Datacentre and Country Macro Datacentre provide the opportunity to customise comparable data and export and analyse in an xls spreadsheet.
To access Retail Analysis, see “Markets & Sectors” via the library databases on the MBS Library website: http://www.mbs.ac.uk/library.
Further help on accessing and using Retail Analysis see our Helping You – Research Guides section via our website.
See also Manchester Business Answers 24/7: Where can I get specialised industry market research?
2011 David Ogilvy Awards available via WARC
The annual ARF (Advertising Research Foundation) David Ogilvy Awards celebrate the extraordinary use of research to create powerful, profitable campaigns. Details of all the 2011 award winners and associated case studies are now available via WARC (World Advertising Research Centre). Examples of available winning case studies include:
• Domino’s Pizza – Pizza Turnaround (the Grand Ogilvy winner)
• Powerade – Keep playing (Gold Winner)
• Wheat Thins – Coming alive with real crunch (Gold Winner)
• Cadbury Caramilk – Key to the secret (Gold Winner)
WARC (World Advertising Research Centre), is an excellent online database containing over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports, forecasts and statistics for a wide range of marketing, advertising and media communications topics. Data is drawn from more than 30 leading content sources worldwide including Admap, International Journal of Advertising, ESOMAR and Journal of Advertising Research.
To access WARC see “Markets & Sectors” via the library databases on the MBS Library website: http://www.mbs.ac.uk/library
Search Tip: enter David Ogilvy 2011 in the search box to find details of the awards and case studies
For further information on how to access and search WARC see the database guides via our “How to Research Guides” .
A New Look for GMID
GMID, Global Market Information Database, provides access to International market analysis and socio-economic/demographic data. It is an excellent resource for researching country intelligence, international markets and international consumer lifestyles.
As of this week there have been a few changes including a new interface, improved usability and a slightly new name, Passport GMID. For those who regularly use GMID don’t worry although it may look a little different the core functionality and content remain the same. In essence the new features include:
- A new look: a new simplified search interface including quick access to key industries/consumer data and analyses
- Predictive text searching: to help you make more targeted free text searches
- Better organised results: relevance driven and with filters to help you refine searches
- Faster navigation: seamlessly move between results page, content and related content
- Improved downloads for stats: to help you leverage data more easily
On accessing Passport GMID there is a short introductory video to familiarise you with the new interface and help you make the most of the new functionality.
To access Passport GMID, see “Markets & Sectors” or “Countries & Regions” via the library databases on the MBS Library website: http://www.mbs.ac.uk/library.
Further help on accessing and using GMID see our Helping You – Research Guides section via our website.












