Home > Business Databases, FAQ updates > Industry classification codes

Industry classification codes

Sector/Industry classifications are often used to divide companies into industry groups. SIC is the best known, and companies have a Primary SIC code, and additional secondary ones.
The classifications ICB and GICS are used to classify quoted companies on a stock market.

The main sector/industry classifications are:

  • NAICS codes (US) The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
  • SIC Codes (US) – (older that NAICS but widely used)
  • SIC Codes (UK) United Kingdom Standard Industrial Classification of Economic Activities (SIC)
  • NACE codes European Industry Classification codes
  • ICB Classification (ICB in Excel) The Industry Classification Benchmark (ICB), is a joint system by FTSE Group and Dow Jones Indexes.
  • GICS The General Industry Classification System (GICS), is a joint system by MSCI and Standard and Poors (S&P).
  • FAME primarily uses the SIC/NAICS codes in the Activity/Industry search criteria.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. 3 July 2015 at 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.